1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Garage extra socket

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by RobertPW, 13 May 2020.

  1. RobertPW

    RobertPW

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there

    Yesterday I installed an electric garage door which I am currently running from an extension lead.

    My garage has a small consumer unit with no spare mcbs. From the consumer unit are 1 double socket on a 16amp mcb and 2x 6amp mcbs running internal and external lights.

    I now need to add an extra socket to power the garage door. I know I could spur off the existing socket, 12 meters away, but seems excessive on cable. There are other options I know, but my questions are these (to come up with the most efficient way, in terms of cable and time whilst still being safe)...

    1. Could I go from the consumer unit to one FSU then run a cable from the FSU to each socket. ie. the FSU would have two outputs rather than daisy chaining the two sockets.

    Socket---------------FSU---------------Socket
    l
    l
    Consumer Unit​


    2. I think I know the answer is no, but could I just run the new socket to the existing MCB, giving me two outputs from one MCB?

    Thanks in advance

    Rob
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,115
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    What is an FSU?

    Do you mean JB?

    Can you not connect the new cable to the consumer unit?
     
  4. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,457
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can run the new socket from the 16A MCB as well as the existing socket.
     
  5. securespark

    securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    36,925
    Thanks Received:
    1,272
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fused Spur Unit?
    If the circuit is protected by a 16A device, you can do away with the fused connection unit.
    If the CU is nearest to the door, then as TTC suggests, you can connect to the circuit at the terminals in the CU.
     
  6. SFK

    SFK

    Joined:
    23 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    1,945
    Thanks Received:
    451
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As the circuit is already protected by a 16A device I would use another socket to make up the junction:


    Socket---------------Socket---------------Socket
    l
    l
    Consumer Unit

    Note that I have hard wired my garage door (as a DIYer) using a fused switched flex out socket like this one. Meant that I could take out the fuse when on holiday if I wanted to make it a bit harder for anyone to electrically operate garage the door.

    https://www.screwfix.com/p/13a-switched-metal-clad-fused-spur-flex-outlet-with-white-inserts/66454

    SFK
     
    Last edited: 14 May 2020
  7. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,457
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the OP’s post I rather think that doesn’t meet his cable-saving ambitions!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. RobertPW

    RobertPW

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for your input everyone. I did consider that an FSU was only doing the same job as the mcb. I’ve been advised 2 cables in one mcb is not best practice so will go from consumer unit to a new socket next to the consumer unit, then there is enough cable to go from the new socket to the existing socket.

    Thank you
     
  9. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,990
    Thanks Received:
    1,354
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You have been advised incorrectly.

    Two cables in one MCB is absolutely a standard circuit arrangement.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,115
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    As said - you have been advised incorrectly -

    and very strangely - as the vast majority of socket circuits in the UK do have two cables in one MCB.
     
  12. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    9,817
    Thanks Received:
    1,962
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Should be 1 MCB = 1 circuit.
    2 cables from a ring is still the same circuit.
    2 cables for two separate radials is not.
     
  13. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    37,115
    Thanks Received:
    4,168
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    By BS 7671 definition it can be nothing else.

    Yes, it is - two radials on the same circuit or one radial and one spur/branch; whatever you want to call them

    The OP was told two cables in one MCB is not allowed - clearly wrong whatever the arrangement.
     
  14. RobertPW

    RobertPW

    Joined:
    11 Jun 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Would 2 cables, each feeding a separate socket not be classed as two radials and therefore not okay. This is the context in which I have been not advised to have two cables in one MCB. Sorry if I haven’t explained this clearly.

    Regards

    Rob
     
  15. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,457
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, here’s the way.

    one wire from the MCB, about 4” long
    Terminate it in a 3-way Wago
    Connect the two cables to the Wago. Voila! One radial with two branches, One conductor in MCB. completely within regs

    BUT POINTLESS ADDITIONAL JOINT.
     
  16. DetlefSchmitz

    DetlefSchmitz

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    2,224
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it wouldn't. Ask whoever says this to quote you the regulation number.

    In fact it is even permitted to have a spur from the MCB of a ring final, which results in three cables from the MCB.

    Too many people make up rules as they go along, to sound knowledgeable.
     
  17. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,853
    Thanks Received:
    589
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think the aim in a house is not to connect 2 radial branches, in say different rooms to one MCB, so under failure conditions you don’t loose lots of power.

    However for a garage with 2 sockets it’s not as issue
     
Loading...

Share This Page