1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

garage install new supply

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by halfax, 12 Oct 2012.

  1. halfax

    halfax

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i am wanting a power supply in a garage , if possible i would like 3 phase.
    the garage is at the back of a row of terrace house . at the rear there is an alleyway with lamposts, would the electric board be able to come from that
    source as it is only a couple of meters away.
    thanks
     
  2. ricicle

    ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,343
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, but there is a possibilty that the main street cable runs underground in that vicinity. Best phone them and ask them. Make sure you are sitting down !
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,662
    Thanks Received:
    1,860
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The streetlight connection will be smallish size cable designed for a few lights and only single phase. So no good for you.

    As ricicle said, you'll have to call the DNO.
    Be prepared for a bill of several thousands of pounds to instigate a new, three phase supply. Let alone the ongoing standing costs for the supply, used or not.
    But how big is your garage?
    what do you need to power that may require 3-phase.?
    What is the current demand for the installation.?

    and

    Are you going to be permitted to use the garage for whatever it is you are planning?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is a row of lockups, each only just big enough to get a normal family car in.
     
  5. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    42,003
    Thanks Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you suggesting that the 'ongoing standing costs' are greater for a 3-phase supply than a single phase one? The 3-phase supply to my house is on a bog-standard domestic tarif (no 'standing charge', as such, at all - just a higher rate for the first X kWh).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  6. halfax

    halfax

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i wanting lighting ,a few sockets for diy, but a seperate meter would suit my needs as i have a full fuse board.


     
  7. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,633
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there are much, much cheaper ways for a competent electrician to supply you with power to your garage, regardless of whether your fuseboard is full or not.

    A new supply from the DNO will literally cost you 10's of thousands, not to mention the disruption.

    An electrician could fit you a henley block, 2 way CU to feed a submain to your garage and have a separate CU in there, this would cost you less than £1000 (dependant on various factors off)

    Definitely cheaper than a new supply, infact, a new, larger fuseboard would be considerably cheaper than a DNO supply
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. halfax

    halfax

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    would i be able to have 100 amps in the houseand 100 in the garage?
    thanks

     
  9. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,633
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you'll find you rarely get to anywhere even close to using 100amps in your house.

    You said all you want in your garage is a couple of socket outlets and lighting, so in terms of circuits you'd probably be looking at a 20amp for a socket radial and 6amp for lights. Which is 1/4 of the 100amps you want.

    If you have a high demand machine you want to power in the garage that might change things, but unless it's MASSIVE then I can't see it myself

    Admittedly I did miss the bit about wanting 3P+N in your garage but if you could live with single phase you could save a fortune.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You want lighting and a few sockets for DIY and that's going to require a 3-phase supply or a 100A single-phase one?

    WHY?
     
  11. halfax

    halfax

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    single phase would be ok
    would the cable to the lighting poat be ok
    thanks

     
  12. RF Lighting

    RF Lighting

    Joined:
    31 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    19,107
    Thanks Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    Leeds
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've got a 50A supply to my garage, and I've never exceeded this. I am running a trade workshop inculding a welder and some other high demand stuff such as theatre lighting rigs.

    It all runs off a standard domestic single phase supply which also powers the house and a small shop.
     
  13. halfax

    halfax

    Joined:
    6 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    in the house we have electric cooker , shower , imeresion heater, lights , sockets i thought that was about the load allowed.

    just thought a new supply to garage would be better.
     
  14. briwire

    briwire

    Joined:
    18 Aug 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The loading on your house is has diversity factor applied to it which means that you are unlikely to have every appliance, cooker, shower etc turned on at the same time. So there is no problem in taking a 20amp single phase supply from your fuseboard outr to your garage.

    That is plenty for your average DIY use. You would only need a three phase supply if you were using things like motors, welders etc. Even then the cost of its installation would take years to pay for itself.
     
  15. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    18,662
    Thanks Received:
    1,860
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK

    Lets take a step back. Way back.

    1. You cannot take a feed from the street lighting. That is not going to happen. The electricity supply compnay (DNO) will not do it and nobody else is allowed to touch it, so that is out.

    2. Having a new, metered supply into a standard one car-sized garage is not practical as its going to be many thousands of pounds to install.

    Your best option is for a competent electrician to run a feed from your house supply to the garage. This is a skilled job and not a DIY thing.
    It does not matter that your fuseboard is full.
    But let us look at the practicalities. Please reply with concise answers.
    Lets suppose a cable is to be laid from your fuseboard to the garage:

    a.) What is there between the back of your house, and the garage. By this I mean is there some garden (yours, or somebody elses).
    b) Is there a road or other pathway to cross. Who owns it, do you have any rights of access.
    c) What is the distance for the cable run from your house to the garage?
    d) Do you own both the house and the garage, or is it rented?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page