Garage Plasterboard Project

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

Looking for some sound advice regarding plasterboard. I've decided to convert my garage into a more useable space however I'm no DIY expert hence the name :).
I thought why not try it. What's the worst that can happen.
I've done alot of reading/research online and thought the easiest thing to do was to plasterboard the interior garage roof and walls. The plan is to do the roof initially and see how I get on.
Materials I believe I need 13 sheets of 2400 by 1200mm acoustic plasterboard
Rockwool insulation between the garage beams and or insulation foam. Plasterboard tape to cover the joints. Will be skimming with plaster after its all erected.

Question is can I just erect the plasterboard and nail it direct to the interior wood beams? Please see image. What other issues am I likely to face? What other materials will I need if any?

Thanks in advance

Attachments

• IMAG0033.jpg
    IMAG0033.jpg
    242.7 KB · Views: 249
Sponsored Links
I thought why not try it. What's the worst that can happen.
I've done alot of reading/research online and thought the easiest thing to do was to plasterboard the interior garage roof and walls. The plan is to do the roof initially and see how I get on.
Materials I believe I need 13 sheets of 2400 by 1200mm acoustic plasterboard
Question is can I just erect the plasterboard and nail it direct to the interior wood beams? Please see image. What other issues am I likely to face?

Thanks in advance

You’d be better with drywall screws rather than nails to fix.

13 sheets of 2.4m x 1.2m is a big area to cover if it needs skimming after.
If you want to do it yourself and you’ve no skimming experience, maybe tape and fill on the joints will give you a better result.
If you try to plaster and it goes wrong, it will be harder to remedy. May even go bad enough that the boards need to come off or it needs overboarding again.