Garden electrics question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I need some advice please. Let me first say i'm not a electrician and i will not be doing any electrical work, I just need some advice as to what will be required in my garden, then possibly I wont get the wrong advice when I start getting quotes.

I'm planning on building a garden pond with water fall and filter so I will need some electric. On the back of my house I have a meter box and a single plug socket (the socket is a spur from the ring main in the house). I'm planning on building the pond about 8 meters from the meter box.

To get electric to my pond can I replace the single socket with a junction box and run SWA cable from the junction box to my pond position and fit a weather enclosed type socket. Or can I get a weather proof type consumer unit and have it fitted next to the meter box, wired into the meter box then run SWA cable from the new CU to the pond?

My house was re-wired 7 years ago with a modern type split load CU. This CU is at the other side of my house. I could go from this CU but would require floor boards and carpets lifting to run the cables to the back garden, hence the reason why i'm asking if there is an easier alternative by using the meter box/socket at the rear of the house.
IMG_5036.JPG

Thanks for looking and thanks for any help/advice given.

Sponsored Links
It would probably be best advised to have the external socket outlet isolated within the property using a fused connection unit, then you could have an adaptable junction box externally to route SWA from there, to the point it requires to serve.
The internal FCU, would then act as a means of down fusing and isolation.

Last edited: