Garden shed base - lay concrete directly on the grass?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all - a newbie here with a no doubt silly question! My builder (doing an extension) has suggested to me that the easiest and cheapest way to create a base for our new 14x8 foot shed is to cover the plot in plastic film, build the shuttering to the correct level, then fill with concrete from a mixer. No need to dig down (lots of roots) and no need to use hardcore. Sounds simple - is he right?

PS, he is a very experienced and high quality builder, but knows we are on a tight budget and so has suggested this budget method. :oops:

Sponsored Links
At the very least you must dig off the grass and a few inches of topsoil. it will just rot and sink.

On decent ground you could probably get away without a sub-base for a little 8x6 concrete base.

But a base as big as 14x8 is almost certain to crack and fail as it settles if it has no sub-base or reinforcing mesh.

To be honest though 14x8 is a pretty large shed and probably not cheap so why shorten its life with a crap base.

If money is tight perhaps you could dig out the base and do some of the donkey work.

OK, but our house was built with no foundations (1800s) except foot wide thick-looking slates/wide bricks, and that hasn't subsided (much!), so why would an area of 14x8 subside? I don't get it.

Sponsored Links
Oh yeah I forgot to say we don't live in the 1800s where they didn't have concrete or electric and stuff we live in the year 2000s

Are you going to build the shed out of asbestos like they did in the 1800s too?

I don't think they built the house on grass.

they dug down about 5 inches and did not use hardcore... laid straight on the soil.