GCSE electronics... help please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi all,
i andrew kinsey, im a student at st matts in manchester, im currently studing GCSE Electonics and i've come unstuck at the fact i have to encorporate a 3 block alarm system into it, the cirucits pretty much designed i just need to adjust it to my design, which is the problem. i don't have my problem outline or brief which basically means i can't carry on, ideally i should come up with this myself but i haven't got a clue. The others in my class are all doing boxes which according to my teacher wouldn't gain me the A* i require to go to the highest level i can, according to my teacher i need an individual design and there needs to be a true need for it, so please help i need to know what your thoughts are and where you need a basic alarm.

cheers

andy

p.s. burglar alarms wouldn't count at GCSE

Sponsored Links
An "intruder" alarm for someone with a big garden. It could go off to let them know if there is a prowler about.

Alternatively, it could be a temporary deployment for if your pet cat goes missing. Set it up around the garden and it would let you know when it detects a cat.

A mechanic working on his own in a garage. He could use an alarm so if someone nips in to steal a car whilst he is on the toilet he could pull his kecks up quick and investigate. ;)

AdamW said:
A mechanic working on his own in a garage. He could use an alarm so if someone nips in to steal a car whilst he is on the toilet he could pull his kecks up quick and investigate. ;)
assuming he has finished the paperwork first

How about using it to turn on a light circuit (say in the loby of a block of flats) when someone enters the building. This would allow the residents to see when they come in but turn off again as they go upstairs (thus saving energy).

You could also use it to actuate a camera to capture photos of, say, badgers where you have set up some bait.