Getting back on the tools...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Not really sure where this should have been posted so opted for this forum!

Joiner by trade for over 20 years but when construction took a hit back in '08 I also took a hit and found it almost impossible to get back on to a site unless it was through an agency, which was sporadic but fine, that was until my little one made an appearance. From then I needed full time permanent work and ended up in a factory knocking up timber frames. The work is ok if repetitive, but the wage is poor especially for the amount of work that goes in.

I'm now toying(some may say procrastinating) with the idea of going fully self employed as opposed to subbying, but I'm quite apprehensive about how work will pick up. I do know that it won't be 5 days a week to start with so am thinking about starting with weekends and seeing what comes of that.

One thing I'm not very good at is pricing up work as being a subby all that was already done. As I will be starting out with no cash(Only a pug 106 and my tools) I'm thinking that an hourly rate or day rate labour only would be best to start off with, then build up some cash to be able to start to supply and fit, but I also need a van, working out of a small car is absolutely no good(unless labour only).

Any help, advice, tips etc would be greatly appreciated.

Ps, also posted on another site and had some good advice, but no harm broadening my search for advice :)

Sponsored Links
You don't sound ready to be self-employed. The money you are on now might not be great but it is regular I think you should bide your time and wait until the market (and rates) really picks up again, for example construction sites. Then start subbying for somebody, or go through agencies again and gradually build up contacts and get a feel for the market.