Getting Started

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey everyone! I was wondering if any of you could give me some advice on how to get started with a career as an electrician.

I've fancied this as a career for years now but never really took it up as i have no idea how to go about it.

I'm aware that i'm going to need qualifications and of course practical experience but as to what qualifications i have no idea.

If anyone knows what sort of course i should be looking at to get started as a domestic electrician i'd be grateful for the recommendations!

Carl

Sponsored Links
I've fancied this as a career for years now but never really took it up as i have no idea how to go about it.
That doesn't sound as if you're highly motivated... :confused:

If anyone knows what sort of course i should be looking at to get started as a domestic electrician i'd be grateful for the recommendations!
C&G 2330 and 2382, then a period of time (years) as an apprentice/assistant to someone experienced to acquire and develop practical skills and knowledge, and at some point C&G 2391.

http://www.cityandguilds.com/search-results.html?sType=q&subject_or_code=electrician

its not that im not highly motivated, i just wanted to finish my education before i got stuck in to a proper career, thats the only reason its taken so long.

But thanks for the advice mate. much appreciated!

Go to the Search facility at the top of this page.

Type in the words "becoming electrician"

Read the results - a lot of people have asked this question!

Best to read the more recent ones first, some of the earlier bitys of advice will now be out of date.

Also, if you are planning to be a domestic electrician, you will need to achieve the qualifications and level of competence to join one of the schemes that allows you to install, certify and notify your own work.

There are a number of organistaions that let you do this. Check out their membership requirements.