Dont All shout. But Electrician courses?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

I’m interested in starting a career as an electrician. I have basic knowledge and skills in domestic installation as far as I understand ring mains, spurs, cable sizes etc. And I have rewired electrical sockets and added extra sockets around my home. (Anyone Impressed?????)

I currently work full time as a nurse so can’t afford to do an aprentership (26 yrs old) due to mortgage, family, etc. So I need some advise on courses to get me the knowledge to complete these domestic installations. I’ve looked at a number of courses that offer EAL VRQ qualified domestic installer certificate. If I got this course plus the city & guild 2381+2391 would this give me the qualifications to do ALL domestic wiring i.e., extra sockets to full rewires? I understand that this wouldn’t give me practical experience.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Simple answer is yes, 2381/2391 and DISQ course along with registration and full scope acceptance in a scheme such as NAPIT, NICEIC or ECA will allow you to legally undertake and self certify the full range domestic installations. You would not be an electrician, but could call yourself a Domestic Installer, Qualified Supervisor.

When I read about acceptance to NICEIC for self certification I took it that you needed to work as an electrician (well as an apprentice to an electrician) or carry out electrical work as part of your main work (e.g. you are a plumber or heating engineer who also wires in controls for the heating system)? Have I misread or do the other two organisations you mention not require commercial experience?

I don't know the answer m8 you simply have to phone the various certifying bodies listed above and get their view. I do suspect some relevant experience is asked for,