1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Glowworm hx24 doesn't seem to be at full power

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by sotal, 29 Oct 2019.

  1. sotal

    sotal

    Joined:
    18 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    567
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We've just had British gas fit smart meters this morning and this afternoon they've fitted the hive smart thermostat.

    They left the heating running when they left but 15 minutes or so later I felt like the house want warning up so I went to check the boiler and it had F22 on the display. I reset the boiler and it kicked back into life at full power until it reached 37*C but then it dropped to a quieter setting, initially it list a couple of degrees but it is now slowly rising but it is taking an age to get the house warm.

    The boiler is set to the maximum temperature.

    The f22 seems to suggest low water pressure but I can't see why anything done would affect that?

    The previous system had a danfoss programmer which the hive receiver replaced on the same back plate. The previous system then had a towerstat wireless stat which had the receiver wired in. This has now been cut and removed.

    I can't think of anything that would have affected it to make it run at half heat (or less!)

    Any ideas before I phone British gas!?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. lightning

    lightning

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Thanks Received:
    444
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check pump is working or weak pump
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,805
    Thanks Received:
    1,537
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It also suggested that there could be a wiring issue with thermistors, it might be as they’ve wired the hive in, that they’ve accidentally pulled a wire loose. Usually a low pressure fault can’t be reset. Did you actually check for low pressure?
     
  5. snb

    snb

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    2,979
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hxi is a heat only so no pressure sensor. But it could give f22 if it doesn’t detect enough or too greater temp diff when it first fires. My bet would be pump speed down.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. lightning

    lightning

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    2,053
    Thanks Received:
    444
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make sure there’s water in header tank and cold feed is not blocked
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,805
    Thanks Received:
    1,537
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How would it work on a sealed system though?
     
  9. Gasguru

    Gasguru

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    11,927
    Thanks Received:
    3,143
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With many Vaillant Group boilers F22 can be a default error code for several conditions...where there is no pressure sensor fitted the error might
    be given if the temp across the heat exchanger doesn't fall between certain limits.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. snb

    snb

    Joined:
    10 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    2,979
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    same as with vented system. the boiler won't know about! or you would use an sxi boiler which is a system boiler.
     
  11. ScottishGasMan

    ScottishGasMan

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    7,148
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Heat onlys (open or sealed f22 is no increase in temp detected on flow pipe on start up)

    Systems and combis its low pressure as senses by the pressure sensor
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,805
    Thanks Received:
    1,537
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I suppose I’d use either?
     
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page