Greenbrook timer T40s

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

i have a greenbrook timer T40s but cannot get it to work

it needs to power an outside light.

instrutions are terrible!!

all i need to know is where and how to connect the wires coming in to the unit and then the wires going out of the unit to the light.

there are 3 connections on the timer live, load and 2 way

where do i connect my incoming live and neutral and where do i connect the outgoing live and neutral?

i have tried various combinations so far but no joy.

Please can anybody who has had this timer help out.

Sponsored Links
Just to make you aware, I am NOT an electrician, but as far as I can see, the timer only switches the live connection.

I would connect the incoming live to "Live", outgoing live to "Load" and simply put the neutrals together in a connector block and the earths in a connector block as I think these are always "connected" to the light.

Please wait on an experienced electrician confirming this/telling you another way before trying it, I'm sure one will be along soon!

Andrew, you should be an electrician! Your reply looks just fine, to me...

EDIT: To the OP: The drawings aren't terrible. They are on line at http://www.thesitebox.com/Downloads/Public/Timers/T40S.pdf

They are written for someone using this device to replace an existing light switch.

You are wiring something from scratch. The drawings will seem confusing as you don't understand the principles of lighting switching.

Proceed as Andrew has stated and you <should> be OK.

Sponsored Links
gents, i have already tried the way andrew has suggested but no joy.

the display on the timer comes on and fades out. and the manual overide does not switch on the light. do you think that this timer need to be connected to the neutrals?

seems very odd that the switch does not have a connection to link the neutrals if it was a case of choc blocking them together dont you think?

any more advice?