Guttering and Water Butt for Garden Shed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I have had my shed a few months now, very happy with it, but I am thinking I should put some gutting around it and feed into Water Butts. I am thinking of using the standard 112mm Guttering and 68mm downpipe rather than the Mini fit. I guess I will need to put a piece of wood on the side of the shed to support the brackets,So, form the side of the shed to where the Roof comes down is 6.5mm, I have measured the bracket and they are approx 5mm thick before the actual bracket, so I guess I need a 6mm battern?
Where is cheapest \ best price to get guttering, on line or in DIY shop?
I have been looking at the water butts, wilkinsons do them, but no stock this time of year, next cheapest I can find is ebay or Wickes, any thoughts?

Many Thanks

Steve

Sponsored Links
i'm not a pro, but IMHO you need a board the length of the shed to attach the guttering brackets, as they need to be in a straight line. Attaching that to the shed is not a problem, screw into the uprights on the shed, or put timber batten inside to screw into. However, you seem to be working to extremely small tolerences.... did you mean 6.5mm? or 6.5 cm?

As for water butts, try the local council they might have a green policy and have some to shift, or try local firms for large barrels... or try local allotments, i.e. ask the old geezers if they have any spare... or just go and buy one you tight b*gger ;)

You can fit a 150mm x 19mm timber around 3 sides of your shed, fixed to the bottom of the roof with the felt laying in the guttering. Make sure you treat the timber before you fit it as it will be easier to do all sides and edges.

You can buy all your materials from wickes. It is a good idea to have an overflow on your water butt, as they will fill up very quickly at this time of year. Make sure you have a good fitting lid and don't let children play with it or near it.

Hope this helps

Andy

Thanks both!