Gutters: is this a cowboy job ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi,

recently had a new gutter put up on one side of my garage - this connected into a pipe that fed into a water butt.

i've attached photos.

would you accept this as a competent job ?

it looks bad to me, but i have no experience on the difficulties of putting up guttering. for all i know this might be acceptable to some.

the contractor said it didn't look pretty; but did the job.

this guy wants to come around next week to work on my roof.

i'm hesitant based on what i've seen so far.

the property i'm living in has suffered from cowboys in the past with previous owners; i don't want to repeat history.

would appreciate your thoughts on this. should i let him loose on my roof ? he's got 95%+ positive ratings on one of these trade sites.

many thanks

Andy

Attachments

• IMG_0340.JPG
    IMG_0340.JPG
    145.8 KB · Views: 573
  • IMG_0339.JPG
    IMG_0339.JPG
    180.5 KB · Views: 571
  • IMG_0338.JPG
    IMG_0338.JPG
    181.6 KB · Views: 569
Sponsored Links
Wonky pipes, no leaf trap.

he's got 95%+ positive ratings on one of these trade sites

If he needs to pay to advertise on one of those trade sites then he is most likely not getting enough personal recommendations to keep him occupied.

Who suggested it should run into a water butt ??

A couple "off set" elbows or moving the water butt would have made it look neater.

Wonky pipes, no leaf trap.

If he needs to pay to advertise on one of those trade sites then he is most likely not getting enough personal recommendations to keep him occupied.

tell me about it. when he showed up, he wouldn't stop trying to get me signed up for other things.

interesting take on the trade sites. i had never thought of that angle before.

thanks

Sponsored Links
Try turning the lid, and see if that straightens the pipework up. But I'd be inclined to find someone recommended by a neighbour next time - now tell us he was.