Hand plane

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm not very good at planing and I find when I use a power plane, I always manage to gouge big lumps out of the end of the wood.

So, I've found an old (and I mean old) hand plane that belonged to my grand-dad. It's a Record plane (and I think it's a smoothing plane) but I haven't got the first clue how to set it up. I've been hunting on the net for a guide but I'm not having much success.

Can anyone tell me how I do it please?

Sponsored Links
Brilliant, thank you. I hunted and hunted for some info and couldn't find anything like that - guess I couldn't have been searching the right words.

It really helps when you can actually identify the separate parts of it.

Now that I've found this old plane, I'm dying to go and tart it up and make it pretty again (is that sad.........??). Hey, it could be collectable.

But anyway, thanks again and it worked a treat - first time I've ever planed a door without splitting a big chunk out of the edge of it.

I did this recently with a Miller's Falls plane I found in a second-hand tool shop. See: http://www.oldtools.co.uk/tools/miller_falls/miller_falls.php

I took the whole plane apart and repainted it, cleaned everything up and sharpened the blade. I already had a sharpening guide, which I find invaluable for keeping the right angle when sharpening my chisels. Now I have a lovely plane, which is a pleasure to use (when it's sharp) and has helped me with every one of the new doors I have fitted in my house.

One hint - never put your plane down upright, always lay it on its side to avoid blunting the blade.

Sponsored Links
I feel like I'm being a right sad git but having used this plane I'm now pretty keen to get it looking new again - there's something about using an old tool. I managed so much better than with the electric one.