HDMI

Sponsored Links
both have resolution of 1920x1080, but 1080p is progressively scanned as opposed 1080i which is interlaced.
1080i = all the odd (or even) lines are painted on the screen in the 1st pass, then the even (or odd) are painted about .03 secs (approx) afterwards in the 2nd pass.
1080p = all lines are painted together in one pass, which gives a smoother image.

If it was just a general question, there is your answer. If you're thinking of choosing a tv, don't bother with 1080p, there's nothing that natively broadcasts in 1080p, not for a long while i'd imagine. There's also hardly any discernible difference between the I and P.

Personally, i've just bought a LG 42PQ6000 plasma, and chose 720p (1080i) but with a refresh rate of >100Hz, rather than 1080p and 50Hz (within my budget).

Hope it helps.

Thanks for your info Kjacko. It was just a general question as I am a retired AV technician and its nice to keep up to date.

Sponsored Links
The concept of an interlaced vs progressive picture was first described in 1927 and has certainly been a consideraton in all TV broadcasts since broadcasting began............. hardly keeping up to date mate!

If you're thinking of choosing a tv, don't bother with 1080p.

Depends if he has BluRay though surely? If so, and depending on screen size, I'd go for 1080p. The differences over 720p are only discernible on 50" up at typical viewing distances though, and even then it's debatable.

32" TVs advertised @ 1080p are just a gimmick imho, unless your face is pressed up against the screen....

If he watches a lot of blu-ray, the 1080p maybe worth it

........but for SKY HD the movies are broadcast at 1080i @50hz which roughly equals 1080p at 25hz anyway (blu ray being 1080p at 24hz of course) , so its basically the same thing.

Smurfin, yep fair point, but OP did say he was just wondering about it, so i assumed he didn' have blu-ray.