Heat pump or distribution?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks. i wonder if anyone can help me with a central heating quandry?
I think I have decided to get involved with the recently announced renewable heat thingy. I thought it would simply be a matter of making a decision then going ahead with a heat pump and underfloor heating. However I have subsequently come across a heat distribution system it looks like I should consider but don't know why(I'm no heat engineer!!).
The systems main claims over UFH from what I can see are a constant flow and return drop of 5 degrees, a sensor/thermostat operating to 1 tenth of a degree, and a response time of 15/20mins. So I think it should cost less to run than UFH but how would it effect the efficiency of the heat pump? That is my main concern that I could lose at one end what I gain at the other.
Any input at all would help.
Hope I've got the right site.
Thanks

Sponsored Links
A name of product, manufacturer or website would be a good start.

However I have subsequently come across a heat distribution system

What type of "heat distribution system" have you came across?
Heat pumps work best with ufh where the lowest possible flow temperatures are involved.

Sponsored Links
Radiant skirt heating via a heat pump?
I'd give that a wide berth.

Is that the guy who was on dragons den a while back where the dragons gave him a wide berth?
He could sell snow to the eskimo's though. ;)

EDIT.
No it was a different guy I think.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SD28oVG8aVs

how are the skirting heaters powered? What is he selling?

does he provide any justification for his claims "for energy savings of up to 40% and with an average of 50% reduction on heating CO2 emissions"

Does "up to" include any figure, including 0%?

I think the claim is that they use less energy to create more heat!