Heating boiler advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I need to select a heating boiler for updating some systems. They are on open vented y and s plans. So far I have gone with combis and system boilers but would like an open vented heating boiler alternative. Anyone have an suggestions ?
I have worked on the HXI in the past and found them good as long as the system is clean but it has been nearly 2 years since Ive touched them.

Thanks Andsam.

Sponsored Links
Vaillant E series are open vented, quite cheap too. Fitted quite a few with no problems. Need a separate bypass is all TRV's on system. Boulter & Viessmann also make HE open vented boilers but I've no experience of them.

Are the vaillant open vented boilers the HXI badged as a Vaillant?

Has anyone had experience with the Veissmann?

No, they are very similar though. Same h/e, burner and user interface I think, but the HXI has more plastic inside it.

The Vaillant can be obtained at many merchants for just over £600 including flue, less if you buy a few of them. Go for that!

Viessmann can be hard to get, and parts hard to get. They look pretty neat though.

Sponsored Links
Keston celcius 25, perhaps surprisingly has an o-v option.

Thanks for the advice. The Vaillant looks a good boiler but could be a bit pricey, but I am looking for reliability ,availability of parts as well as price.I would be interested in the Veissmann as I have read alot about them but Im concerened about parts availability. Does anyone know if they have there own work force or do they have service agents as this is something I would be interested in.

Aside from the HXI, the Vaillant will be the cheapest of all the boilers we've discussed here.

I had a Vaillant EcoMax Pro 18 fitted 18 months ago and reckon its a great boiler.

Reason i chose it apart from generally good reviews from sites like this, is the 2 year warranty they give - if they are confident to offer this then they must be pretty good eh ?