heatslave 15/19 overheating?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
I have been to help a neighbour out this morning with a problem with his boiler (I am an apprentice!). Basically he said the boiler woke him up with all the banging etc coming from pipe work. I had a look, managed to get it going again (after it had cooled) but the pressure dial rocketed up again and it tripped the boiler stat and dumped out of the blowdown. It also did this on hot water only - had hot tap running too yet water was cold. Am I right to suggest to him that his divertor valve is faulty because it doesn't seem to be circulating? Water pressure was very low when I got there too. Thanks in advance for your help.

Sponsored Links
Don't know this particular boiler but did you check the pump is working?

Go for simplest/basic things first then work up to more serious options ;)

Check pump

Blowdown is is term used on steamboilers. The safety valve should be refered to as the safety valve and nothing else ;)

Hi dave,
Thanks for reply. Yes pump appeared to be running ok - I did unscrew the screw thinking there may be trapped air and all I got was steam!
Hope this helps you!

Sponsored Links
learningtoplumb said:
Hi all,
I have been to help a neighbour out this morning with a problem with his boiler (I am an apprentice!). Basically he said the boiler woke him up with all the banging etc coming from pipe work. I had a look, managed to get it going again (after it had cooled) but the pressure dial rocketed up again and it tripped the boiler stat and dumped out of the blowdown. It also did this on hot water only - had hot tap running too yet water was cold. Am I right to suggest to him that his divertor valve is faulty because it doesn't seem to be circulating? Water pressure was very low when I got there too. Thanks in advance for your help.

Apprentice what?

Lack of circulation resulting in a boil. Very dodgy especially if the pressure relief valve sticks or the overheat fails BANG.