HELP - Complete newbie - No Hot Water :(

NHW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, as you can tell i am a complete newbie, i have no idea how plumbing works and no idea what most of the components are called except the boiler and the cylinder. At least im being honest up front eh? :LOL:

Anyways i have just moved into my new house and the hot water for the past 2 days has only ever produced 2-3 cups at the most, even when ive left it for like half a day and come back there still only seems to be a tiny amount of hot water that comes through the taps, it doesnt even go cold or anything it just stops producing water.

Before i jump the gun and call a plumber who will probably charge me a whack for callout or something, i just thought id ask if maybe ive got some of the settings wrong somewhere?

Ive already tried the usual, put the HW to 24 hrs, made sure the boiler lit up and was heating (which it did) and left it for a few hours. even then it could only produce those 2-3 cups? any help would be much appreciated.

ive uploaded some pictures so if anybody is able to tell me what settings those components should be id much appreciate it. Thanks

Sponsored Links
The immersion heater on top of the tank. Follow the cable down to the switch and switch it on. You'll have a tank of hot water in about 2 hrs.
That is if the immersion heater is working.
You might be able to hear a faint buzzing when you switch it on.

Given it's a new house to you my guess is the pump is probably
siezed. Remove the centre screw from the pump (some water will
come out so use a towel and using a screw driver see if the screw in the middle is turning. If not give it a twist left and right it might just be stuck.

Before i jump the gun and call a plumber who will probably charge me a whack for callout or something,]

For a forum populated by plumbers, you seem to have got off on the wrong foot. Do you expect the call out to be free?