Help fitting a tv to stud wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

First post here so please be gentle!

Im planning on putting a tv to a stud wall. Im a diy novice but would like to give it a go. I just have a quick question about routing cables.

Below is a pic of my propose setup (please excuse the 2 minute paint mockup). Red lines are the studs, red stars are intended mount points, and the yellow squares are where i intend to run cables in the wall by making 2 holes with a plasterboard saw and fitting face plates.

IMG_0434.jpg

Im confident that im correct in how i intend to mount the bracket, my questions are as follows:

1) Am i safe to cut open the plasterboard on the bottom yellow square and install a face plate, it looks like this could be in an electrical safezone? Are there any risks of hitting an electrical cable? If there is then how has there been a phoneline/tv arial plate been installed next to the plug sockets? Im guessing due to this that the safe zone runs vertically down from the plug sockets?

2) If i am ok to do do this, is it ok to run the power cable down this channel between the two yellow squares?

Cheers for any input guys

Sponsored Links
The first thing you could do to correctly determine if there's any risk of any cables is remove the face place and back box of the aerial and have a very good look.

The cables are very likely to run up from the floor or down from the ceiling but it's not a 100% given. Have you a cable locator to check the exact route?

Running the cable between the "yellow boxes" is fine.

The term "safe zone" is ambiguous. It is "safe" to run cables there but can be very UN-safe to drill holes into the wall in a "safe zone"

All the area above the width of those sockets is to be considered a hazardous area for drilling.

If that is platerboard & stud then the boxes behind the sockets etc may be the plastic type that clip into the plasterboard.