Help With Downstairs Lighting

S

skuba

We've recently started to suffer from a strange lighting fault in our house downstairs. We have a downstairs toilet, entrance hall, living room, dining room, kitchen, and utility room. They are all standard single bulbs with the exception of the dining room which has a 3 bulb light fitting. When we turn on the lights in the living room and/or the dining room, they often flicker for a few seconds before working properly. None of the other lights downstairs seem to suffer from this problem. They are all on the same circuit because when I pull out the fuse it kills all the lights downstairs

Any ideas what might be causing this?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert but sounds like a simple wiring fault. The lights that flicker will no doubt be part of the same circuit. If you feel confident enough, I would start with checking the wiring on each of the flickering ceiling light fittings. If that doesn't help it sounds like a job for a sparky.

Good luck.

C

Sounds like a loose connection and is potentially dangerous.

It needs to be fixed ASAP.
do you mean a dodgy connection to a switch? or a lighting unit?

what's the risks involved?

thanks

Sponsored Links

It could be both.

thanks

Just make sure that the circuit is dead before you go near it.
Start with the switch and make sure none of the conductors are loose.
If they are okay then check that the ceiling rose conductors are tight.
If they are okay then check that the pendant conductors are tight.

If all these are okay then you may have a faulty lamp - I have assumed that when you say standard bulb you mean an incandescent bulb and not an energy saver or halogen bulb.

thanks

Loose connection = spark = risk of fire

As both of your lights are flickering, its more likely to be the light fitting rather than a faulty switch, as they will be part of the same circuit.

to be specific, the lighting downstairs is like this:
toilet - 1 switch, single bulb