help with new house alarm Accenta 8

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

First off I'm no expert in home alarms so would like some good advice!

my new house has a Accenta 8 alarm (says it on the control box), it has a keypad in the near the hall way (we have no codes at all). Now theres no power to the house for a while as it was vacant, when I power on the house, the alarm goes off and it sounds like the whole house has alarms? Anyway, i found the code to try (0123) but I recall this not making any difference at all, apart from the power light on the keypad, none of the zones light are on.

I noticed the smoke alarms have no battery (dont know if this is related) but sounds like a mini alarm going off, then a much louder alarm going off 3 secs after.

Now should I get an alarm expert in to service and reprogram this or is there something better out there for approx 2-300 bells alarm fitted?

I was looking at the Yale 6400 wireless alarm as I like the idea of arming the house at night from upstairs, using a remote wireless key when coming home and for the house to notify me by phone if it does go off when i'm not home.

Please advise as we are looking to paint the whole house (wires run around the house) very soon but in 2 minds whether to rip the wired system out or get it serviced and use it as is?

Any info is appreciated!

Sponsored Links
forgot to mention, i havent actually looked hard but it seems there only 2 PIR installed, not sure if there is any in the garage but the main control unit is there and guessing is where the main power is going to.

So visually it looks like a simple setup, i'm swaying towards a Yale 6400 as I know I can fit this and have options to expand (i know it seems to be a big thing with kit alarms vs pro installers) :p

NO do not fit the yale, have a look for the Accenta G4 online, this would be easy to fix in place of the old 8 mini if you wanted a complete replacement.