Highways - planning application problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, newbie here, so hopefully I'm in the right area.

Before we submitted our planning application, we visited Planning who also consulted with Highways on our behalf.

So, we submitted our £1000 application and have had due feedback from Planning as no issues from them.

However, Highways has not kicked back due to visibility issues.

Has anyone got experience of dealing with Highways appeals or suggestions as to what I can do to fight my case. I'm already investigating how many any accidents on the road and starting to monitor traffic flow at different times.

Can anyone provide expertise/advice, it would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
visibility issues? Could you provide a scan of the part of the plan they have issue with? We need more info. surely they gave more info? you cant expect us to read your or their mind.

Hi Steve. I've not had anything official yet - I just got an early warning from Planning that they were happy but Highways weren't.

I called the Highways guy who stated that his concern was if we were the 'X' distance of 2.4metres, then we would not have sufficient visibility to our right hand side. FYI, the road to our right runs for approx 50yards into a dead end. The speed limit is 30mph, though traffic never goes this fast due to it all being residential and therefore slowing down to park up. I never go above 20mph (it's more like 15mph) and I drive the same speed as everyone else.

I have read that visibility splays can be as short as 2 metres (for low use traffic). If they were to use this figure then I can see for 47 yards to my right.

Does that provide enough info?

I'm curious what challenges people have used against highways. Although I am biased, it amazes me that a quiet road should cause me this issue.
Thanks for help/advice. If you need pics, I'll try upload (if it's possible).

John

a drawing to scale would be a big help to us..