1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hikvision NVR Video Loss

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Jupiter01, 29 Jun 2020.

  1. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a power cut a week ago and the system never came back after this. It reported "Video Loss". I rebooted the NVR and this resolved the issue. A couple of days later, I had a further "Video Loss". A reboot fixed the issue again.

    Today (5 days later) I have further reports of "Video Loss". Here's what I see in the log for when this occurred:
    upload_2020-6-29_20-35-55.png

    Can someone please suggest what may be happening and how this can be addressed.
    Thanks in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So your asking what is causing an abnormal shutdown and then cameras disconnecting and losing the image?

    NVR model?
    Firmware?
    How long as it been in?

    what was happening at 16:00 ish?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes please. Each time this happens my cameras stop recording and that's a concern. I've had this system for over 4 years and have never had this issue.

    DS-7608NI-E2 / 8P/A

    V3.4.98 build 171121

    Just over 4 years

    There are repeated "System Running State" messages for most of the afternoon.
    I can see one instance of "Hik-Connect Offline Exception" at 11.55am but it then returns to "System Running State" after this entry.
     
  5. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How often is this occurring?

    Is there any one camera that goes off first?

    Abnormal shutdown , could be due to cable damage, camera failure or NVR failure.

    shame NVR is out of warranty, if it was in warranty you could get it swapped out an eliminate that very quickly as the cause.

    The problem is testing to eliminate, and at 5 days between problems it could take a long time to get down to the bottom of it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This has hardly ever happened over the last 4 weeks and I've then had a spate of these over the last week
    The cameras have always disconnected in this order: 4, 5, 6 and 7.

    Thanks again
     
  7. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so 123 and 8? are okay

    so whats different about 456 and 7?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’ve only got 4 cameras and they must be connected into those ports.
     
  9. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ah okay.

    so when they disconnect is it pretty much straight after each other? or is there a long delay or pretty much all at the same time.

    have you checked the cables for damage, of cameras for water ingress (on the connection).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cameras have disconnected at the same time on each occasion. Even the seconds are the same on each disconnection entry for the cameras.
    2 of these four cameras are indoors. I have checked the ones outdoors and the cables are well insulated by the connector shield "thingies" and I've also wrapped insulation tape over them. there is no sign of water or damage.
     
  12. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if you have POE switch, you could look at using that for the cameras instead of the nvrs own network at least to see how it behaves and have the cameras running.

    if the cameras are good and connections etc, then looking at the NVR.
    Got a few of these out there and touch wood they have been fine
     
  13. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I’m wondering if it could be a bad disk? Would a reformat or reset of the system help?
     
  14. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The NVR should have a disk check you can run

    however with no HDD the live view would still be available?
     
  15. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    501
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It sounds like the NVR is re-booting, it's possible that a surge may have damaged the PSU or some other component inside it. You will always get camera disconnect errors when the machine reboots, this is normal so there's probably nothing wrong with the cameras themselves.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    375
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1
    It sounds exactly like an intermittent power loss.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does this suggest that I need to replace the NVR or can I replace an individual component within this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page