1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Hikvision NVR Video Loss

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by Jupiter01, 29 Jun 2020.

  1. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    383
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I expect you've done the obvious check for loose power connections both externally and internally.

    Is there any way you can set up a test for intermittent mains drop? e.g. leave a PC running and see if it has dropped out when the NVR has failed. (Make sure the BIOS is not set for auto reboot).
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,657
    Thanks Received:
    579
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    possibly new NVR would be a cheaper option than repair, plus it be under warranty.

    The HDD is probably salvageable, so just a new NVR, that model is no longer available new, so it be a K or I series, I will see if anyone still has one knocking about.
     
    Last edited: 2 Jul 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  4. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,657
    Thanks Received:
    579
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its finding someone that will do repairs and how much it would cost and then getting there and back and what kind of guarantee they will give with it.

    Most things are repairable, its whether its economical to repair and usually only economical if you or your mate can repair it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,657
    Thanks Received:
    579
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited: 2 Jul 2020
  6. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,602
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had a further "Local Abnormal Shutdown" this morning, followed by the disconnections but on this occasion, the system then resumed again. This hasn't happened on previous occasions.
    upload_2020-7-3_10-49-9.png

    Thought I'd share in case it narrows down the cause.
     
  7. Munzz

    Munzz

    Joined:
    14 Jul 2019
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the same issue with my NVR, in the end I replaced it (not the HDD) and it’s been done ever since)
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,602
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This happened after a month (last night) but it coincided with a powercut. Are these cameras not designed to reactivate after a powercut? The system was online - just the cameras were down.
    We have had a spate of powercuts in our area and I am beginning to wonder if that may have caused the earlier outages too.
     
  10. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,657
    Thanks Received:
    579
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The cameras need power, IP cameras take a short while to boot back up after a power failure.

    ie power back on, cameras start to boot up.

    you should be able to manually recreate this situation?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,602
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last nights outage definitely coincided with a power outage. The power outage occurred at 2am and the cameras were still down at 7.30am.
    A reboot of the system has revived them.

    Does the above shed any further light on the issue I am experiencing?
     
  12. Jupiter01

    Jupiter01

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2015
    Messages:
    2,602
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    UPDATE: I raised this issue with UK Power Networks and they offered to examine the system. They concluded that the issues have not been caused by the spate of power outages we have had. Unsurprising!
    Here are their conclusions:

    This CCTV recorder and camera came in for inspection together.
    I dismantled the recorder and checked the power supply for dama ge consistent with mains fluctuations
    but no such damage was seen. The input fuse, VDR, rectifiers and smoothing arrangements show no
    indication of stress caused by an excessive supply voltage. The power supply output was measured and
    found to be within specification. The main panel lights are illuminated, as is the front display. We could
    not find any damage consistent with mains fluctuations on this item.
    Attention was then turned to the camera and interconnections. The IP camera was connected and we
    obtained output via the HDMI port on the recorder using port 3 which appears to be the default port for
    the main image. The unit will shut off if this is not connected.
    It is notable that the camera is connected via CAT 5 and there fore does not run from a mains supply.
    In conclusion, it may well be that there is some sort of problem with this system which we have not se en.
    However, due to the lack of damage in the recorder power supply, we would not be able to conclusively
    attribute such a failure to mains fluctuations, indeed the entire system is currently running on test with no
    visible problems.
    The camera itself runs via CAT 5 cable so clearly is not connected to the incoming mains supply. The
    recorder which does run from the incoming mains supply shows no damage consistent with mains
    fluctuations.

    upload_2020-8-28_9-37-0.png

    upload_2020-8-28_9-37-29.png

    As always, interested in your thoughts.
     
  13. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,657
    Thanks Received:
    579
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well its hardly a surprise.

    the only thing you could try is have it sat in the house with the cameras on new short terminations and see how it behaves for a while?

    you could use a poe switch and run the cameras via your network back to the NVR.
     
Loading...

Share This Page