Hive active heating self install

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Dools, 10 Jul 2021.

  1. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi would anyone be able to help me
    With a self install for hive active heating, the first thing I need to tackle is the thermostat in the hallway and my boiler is in the garage am I right in saying the wiring from the thermostat will run to the pictured fused spur ? Is this the right way to start this install any tips much appreciated

    FE134599-2055-45A9-8C20-506D317E4C00.jpeg 60A55516-C303-48B6-9CBC-E6F8D2968B6C.jpeg
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I will also add other pictures I’ve taken 79B22A5A-0604-4EB1-AFD8-71C3C6D85104.jpeg DD2E59B8-71DB-4109-9D2D-C82397EB4995.jpeg C98248BF-5510-41CB-9967-F77F4958C086.jpeg DD1F9FBF-E149-4278-9128-76A4163C086F.jpeg 623556A0-4EE2-496A-84A9-2E3EC06425CC.jpeg 8D6D10D0-232D-4E6E-A510-D914158BE2D6.jpeg
     
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,832
    Thanks Received:
    2,702
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you’re certain the thermostat runs to that spur, then you’ll need to safely disconnect it, or join the 2 wires (live and switched at the thermostat). You’ll need a permanent live and permanent neutral from either the boiler or spur for thermostat Hive and then the 2 wires at the boiler can go to 1 and 3 on the Hive.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the bottom of the fused spur there is 2 white cables that run into the boiler terminal block one of these cables obviously feeds the boiler to give it power but what is the other white cable
    for ?
     
  6. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,832
    Thanks Received:
    2,702
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It’ll be the live and switched from boiler, to the spur, that then feeds your thermostat.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Thanks Received:
    10,152
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As your room thermostat has a neutral just put the Hive single channel receiver there, you will need a link between L and 1 and the switched live in 3 of the hive , boiler timer will need to be set to constant
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AD82B89B-F3DB-4A8F-A702-07E56C175D35.jpeg
    this sounds like a much better option so my current thermostat has a red wire to 2 an earth to 3 a blue wire to 6 and there is a brown wire that is bridged to 3 and 5 ,can you help with how I wire these to the hive receiver please
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I’ve got this far switched all the power on and there was no power to the receiver

    FAFC461C-94A6-440C-99EF-839304B99D36.jpeg
     
  11. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    6,216
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you set the boiler timer to constantly on?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ADCE374E-355F-4D80-AC1D-9153FCF121C8.jpeg

    I presumed this was constantly on but you might say otherwise , thanks for the help so far everyone it’s much appreciated
     
  13. Johnmdc

    Johnmdc

    Joined:
    5 Jun 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Bolton
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The yellow wire isn't an earth. It's the switched live, it should go to 3 and the red wire to L
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Dools

    Dools

    Joined:
    10 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks so much for the help it’s much appreciated

    093AB225-6FE2-4635-87CD-4EE249CB6C9C.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    24,078
    Thanks Received:
    10,152
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For anyone else reading this, wire colours mean nothing in a heating system, so if you are trying to do the same as the OP do not think that your wire colours will be the same
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  16. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page