Hive Active heating single channel receiver replacing time clock

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi,
this is my first time posting here, please be patient, I have a very basic iol fired CH system, the boiler is a warmflow Kabin Pak Pre-Pumped Boiler(KPHE) with a pre-wired factory-fitted burner, thermostat and circulating pump. Currently simply operated by a rwb7 programmer that switches the boiler on and off at set times, there is no thermostat in the house. The system is gravity fed with a separate hot water storage tank and immersion heater, as far as the central heating goes it heats the hot water tank at the same time as the heating. I dont have any valves on the heating to split hot water from radiators. I have installed the Hive receiver according to the following wiring instructions.

N=Perm Neutral
L=Perm Live
1. Common= Neutral to Boiler
2. Nothing connected
3. Heating on (NO) = Brown to boiler
4. Unused on single channel

My understanding is that the hive should take care of the 230volt switching to fire-up the boiler, all the indications from the hive is that everything is operating ok, however the boiler does not fire-up. Hive are unable to help and don't seem to have much experience of oil fired CH sytems.

Has anyone come accross this type of issue. any help greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• Hive backplate wiring.JPG
    Hive backplate wiring.JPG
    40.7 KB · Views: 7,854
Sponsored Links
Common is usually a live not a neutral, especially from the boiler. Which “brown” from the boiler have you used?

Hi,