Hive Installation

Joined
15 Oct 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hello friends,
I'm looking to install a Hive dual channel (for CH and HW) in place of my existing British Gas Model UP2 Programmer and WR2 Wireless Receiver. I've already looked at a number of posts on this forum, but found that the wiring in my installation is different from what I've seen, so I thought it would be better/safer to post my own thread, with photos of my specific installation, and hope that someone will be able to advise me what to move and/or disconnect. I've numbered each of the wires, to easily identify the routing to/from the Wiring Centre. Thanks, in advance, for any assistance.
Wiring Centre


Wireless Receiver


Programmer




Read more: https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/hive-installation.555098/#ixzz6ay34PNZh
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
Doesn't Hive just fit onto a standard backplate, IE can't you drop it on to the existing programmer backplate?
 
Joined
15 Oct 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Andrew. Yes, it does, but the existing wireless receiver needs to be taken out of the equation, which results in some wiring needing to be changed.
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
Extend your flex 7 to where 6 currently goes to in the wiring centre, discard 6.

Link terminals 1 & 3 on the roomstat connections in the wiring centre. Discard flex 1 and the wireless received backplate, which should now have nothing connected to it.

That should be all
 
Joined
15 Oct 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Andrew. Thanks very much for that. Too busy at work today, so will have to wait until tomorrow to do it.
 
Joined
15 Oct 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Andrew. Thanks once again for your excellent advice and assistance. I've done the installation and all seems to be working. I note, however, that the valve actuator (it's a Drayton MA1) is staying in the "heating only on" position, rather than returning to the "water only on" position that it used to do, so the motor is still holding the valve in place and is getting rather hot. Is this normal?
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,547
Reaction score
3,189
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
Does it move to water only if you turn the heating off and have the water on?
 
Joined
15 Oct 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, it does, and this morning, after both being on, the heating went off first (room temp reached), and the water on schedule, and the valve is now in the water only position.
 
Joined
15 Oct 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
I ran the heating again for a short while, and the valve went to the full heating only position, so all OK there. However, when I turned the heating off again, the valve remained in the heating on position. A little while later, I turned the hot water on, and the valve immediately reacted and went from heating only to water only, and stayed in that position (as expected) when I turned the water off.
 
Sponsored Links
Top