Hive wiring check

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by SiG01, 30 Nov 2021.

  1. SiG01

    SiG01

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wanted to confirm I have the wiring correct changing over from current system to hive


    Current system is wired up as

    Live and Neutral as expected
    There is then a small brown wire going between the live and common ports
    Then single grey wire into port 4 which is labelled as Call for heat.

    So for hive I would have

    Live & Neutral the same as above
    Along with also using the small brown wire to bridge the live and common ports
    Then instead of port 4 on the current system the grey wire would go in port 3 on hive for Heating on
     
  2. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,847
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's the idea. It's what the terminal does, not it's number which is important, so "Call for Heat" does indeed equate to "Heating On"

    You don't give any information about the system you are connecting the Hive to, but if you have a combi boiler and are simply swapping an existing programmable room thermostat for the Hive, that's all you need to do.

    On the other hand, if you are exchanging a programmer for the Hive and there is also a room thermostat elsewhere, there's a bit more to. As would be the case if you have a hot water cylinder.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. SiG01

    SiG01

    Joined:
    1 Nov 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah it’s a Worcester greenstar with a Neomitis receiver already connected which has a wireless thermostat in the hallway.here’s a photo of the current wiring.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,847
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK that's fine from a wiring point of view for a single channel version of the Hive

    The only thermostat I've seen connected to a Neomitis was just a basic thermostat providing just temperature control [without time control] so not a programmable thermostat

    If your existing thermostat is a programmable type [ie one that provides both time and temperature control in the same unit] and there isn't any on/off time control anywhere else then you're good to go.
     
    Last edited: 30 Nov 2021
  6. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page