Honeywell S plan woes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new to this, so don't get angry if I appear a bit dumb!

Basically, I am having a new boiler fitted, but to save me some money, I am doing the wiring work myself, which will be throughly checked by a qualified person when he also replaces my fusebox for a modern one, so everything will be quite legal!

My problem is this: I have altered the pipework to have a 2 zoned heating area, wired as per the Honeywell S plan wiring diagram. [ My pipework is all 28mm, so I have also disregarded the white wire & isolated it, as per Honeywell's note on the paperwork thatcame with the zone valves.]
BUT, I could not buy a Honeywell progra mmer, so instead I bought a Horstmann C21 Centaur.

I used a Honeywell 10 way wiring box in accordance with the S plan wiring diagram, so everything is wired - correctly - into that. I have also taken a power supply from that unit, to the new Horstmann programmer unit.

So, my question is this, the Horstman unit does not have the same wiring number configuration to that of the Honeywell unit. I realise that I cant just have the programmer wired with just a power supply, so do I take it that I will also have to wire the programmer into the 10 way junction box too. To me, this is then duplicating everything, so do I need to do this?

Thanks for any help gents!

Sponsored Links
Yes. How else will the programmer 'talk' to the rest of the system otherwise? Valves, stat, boiler, .......Do you mean how do i wire it?

Yes. How else will the programmer 'talk' to the rest of the system otherwise? Valves, stat, boiler, .......Do you mean how do i wire it?

Thanks, thats what I thought. So I will need to connect the programmer to the junction box. For example, using Horstmann's wiring diagram, No 4 connects to the room stat [I am looking at their No 7 example, " Fully pumped system using roomstat, clyinder stat & two [2port] motorised valve with auxiiary switches]