Hot water boiling over

APE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have recently had my boiler moved, all well and good. But it seems that ever since I had it moved, whenever JUST the hot water is on it seems to "boil over" out of the expansion pipe and into the header tank, then subsiquently over-flow all over my drive way. When the CH is on at the same time this doesn't seem to happen. It is also worth mentioning at this point that I also had an additional zone valve fitted when the boiler was moved to independantly control the HW (before, the HW always had to be on for the CH to work).
Also, possibly worth mentioning: I have some DIY plumbing knowledge, but I am no plumber by any stretch of the imagination, but i was under the impression that you had to have at least one radiator on the same "circuit" as your heating coil and i don't. Is this right or am i just talking nonsence?!!!!

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
sounds like the expansion pipe has not been moved with the boiler/pump and is probably pumping over all the time. check to see if the ex pipe is before or after ther pump. Also, constant hot water in header tank could soften /loosen plastic fitting on tank so beware of leaks if this does not get fixed.

also, check that there is a bypass fitted between flow and return before the zone valves, this is just an interconnecting pipe between the pipes to allow the water to circulate when controls have been satisfied

Ditto, and no, in general there should not be a radiator on your DHW circuit

Sponsored Links
Thanks methaneman75, the boiler was only moved about 2 metres from the middle of the kitchen wall to a cupboard in the corner. And from what I can tell, the expansion pipe is before the pump (I presume by before you mean on the return pipe).