House Renovation - Sun Room

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Renovating a house from top to bottom, part of which is the partial rebuild of a Sun Lounge. I'm a rank amateur at this game, and have learnt enormously from having to go through pain, so I'm jotting this down in case it may help others. Apologies to anyone (and there must be very many) at a greater skill level than me.

Please feel free to add comments, correct errors etc. I hasten to add that this is a narrative of my experience - my learning curve. I am in no way shape or form a builder ( as will become apparent!) and there are far better skilled folks on this forum from whom to seek advice and help.
Anything I put here is what I have seen, or been told, or advised.

The difference between a conservatory and a sun lounge is that a sun lounge has a solid roof (thanks Local Authority Building Control LABC).
As such, it needed Planning Permission and inspection with respect to Building Regs. It was built in 1970, and was inspected at Excavation For Foundations, Foundations and Damp Proof Course, but interestingly enough not after! This didn't come up in the searches carried out prior to purchasing, but through my own searching at the council offices. Buyer Beware!
Sun lounge construction is interesting, in that there is a brick outer skin, block inner skin and a small cavity. Roof joists go the length of the lounge, rather than the shorter width. Thus, the supporting walls are the ones at the side of the lounge, rather than the one that contains the patio doors. Also, two very large wooden lintels are installed across the two supporting walls, covering the gap over the patio doors. Well, sort of!
In fact, the two wooden lintels, enormous and strong though they may be, support half a dozen lightweight blocks. The outer skin of brickwork is supported by the patio door frame!
Needless to say, the brickwork has failed, and needs replacing.