House Rewire

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am about to rewire my house, I'm not an electrician but have worked on many house rewires over the years.

If I was to rewire my house and then get it passed by an electrician does it have to be 17th edition or will it get passed as satisfactory but NCS

Thanks
Steve

Sponsored Links
You will find it difficult to find an electrican who will sign off some one elses work as being compliant.

If you are planning to do a DIY re-wire then the first thing to do is to speak to your local building control officers at the town hall. Ask them what they require in the way of documentation about the design and testing of your installation to allow them to accept your signature on a certificate of compliance to the standard they require for the work.

Hi,
I am about to rewire my house, I'm not an electrician but have worked on many house rewires over the years.
If I was to rewire my house and then get it passed by an electrician does it have to be 17th edition or will it get passed as satisfactory but NCS
Thanks
Steve
You do not have to follow the 17th or any other edition of BS7671 as long as you can demonstrate that the installation meets these requirements.
//www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:part_p:statutory_instrument
If you intend to do the work yourself, then you will need to notify your Local Authority Building Control, pay their fee, demonstrate how you will meet the above requirements and produce an Electrical Installation Certificate together with schedules of inspections and test results.
//www.diynot.com/wiki/electrics:part_p:diy_electrical_work_and_the_law

You should also be aware that you cannot just get your work passed by an electrician - he will need to be involved in every part of the design, installation and testing of the circuits - to do otherwise would be illegal and make any work you have done invalid.

Thanks for your replies.