How a combi boiler works?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I'm a qualified electrician which I rewire houses, wire y plan and combi boilers. I'm looking for information how a combi works. I have been on YouTube and looked at videos but don't give me enough information. I know that when you turn the hot water tap on, it gets water from supply from outside and it goes through the heat exchanger and goes out to hot water taps.
With the radiators it pumps water around the radiators to another heat exchanger.
That's all I understand, can anyone give me a simple video/website etc how how a boiler actually works please.

Sponsored Links
Just read the forums for a while. The best RGIs are sparkies first.

why dont you just tell him joe?by the way joe,how does a HEX work?AND how does the latent heat come into it?

Sponsored Links
Andy2K7 sadly you will have noticed that whenever Joe90 is involved in a post then you will never get the answer you were hoping for so I will do my best to advise you, A combi boiler heats the DHW instantly as the cold water passes through the boiler so it will not heat the radiators at the same time as the water is running but most users never notice as even running a bath takes 20-30 mins and the radiators dont cool that much in this time, combis usually have a very high heat engine compared to stored water boilers as they have to heat water instantly but the output to heating can usually be set by the PCB to reduce the amount of gas being used when heating to rads is required, as a spark all you need to really know is that the boilers heating controls are a programmer and or a room thermostat possibly weather compensation controls if a newer boiler and as long as the boiler has a permanent live then the HW will control itself

There's a regular pattern on here. Post starts. Jo-90 talks ****e. Post dies.
He's like a forum "dose".