How best to tender a project out?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a very large redevelopment project for my home which will take approximately one year to complete. Could you please advise how I should be tendering this out and what contracts (JCT I keep hearing) I can use to provide a schedule of works and get accurate quote?

Any tips on how best to avoid contractual problems later. I'm choosing not to use my architects project management service which will cost me 5% of the build price which I cannot afford. Chances are I will use someone I know very well but I still want to get several quotes to compare. I'm new to this whole process. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
u587162, Hi

You are entering a mirky area which is full of huge financial pitfalls.

If you are Un-Lucky to have seen some of the TV programmes about large value and very fancy new builds and re-furbs with all of the pitfalls of the [if you excuse the expression] well meaning home owner taking on the roll of a Project manager without any previous experience is a really, really daunting task.

You will need, a set of highly detailed plans from your Architect right down to the ironmongery, type of windows, door types, grade and exact type of flooring, Carpets. wall types, finishes, papered or painted, types of Skirting. the kitchen, and the bathroom, just do not go there the options are totally mind blowing, as you possibly know already.

Now imaging part way into the build the builder comes and tells you that need to make a decision about what alternate material to use for the doors, the skirting's, the kitchen or bathroom, all you need to do without a PM is to spend time and source the materials yourself at a cost that you can bear.

Another thing you need will be fully annotated Structural Engineers Drawings, and finally you need a bills of Quantities compiled by a Quantity Surveyor so you can hand the bills Of Quantity to your preferred set of builders to get them to supply costs to you.