Advice Required : Tender/Proposal for Main contractor (Home Extension)

NHW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Have been planning for a while to get a 2-Story extension done on the house, I have a friend who is an architect and he has basically done me the favor of sorting out the design and the planning process (attached the actual PDF of the plans in this post) etc............all of which has been approved :)

So now is the time to get on with the actual work itself, and i think we will be going through the route of looking for a main contractor (as opposed to self-managed) as I have no experience in building work.

I've looked online and read through some guides on how to approach the process but we all know you can't get any better than some personalized advice from this forum. These are things which i assume that i will need to have in place:

1. Contract in regards to the work being carried out along with the level of quality and expectation of the final build (possibly something in there to do with timescale also?). I have heard of people mentioning JCT contracts?

2. Insurance for the extension work, and insurance for any accidents to my property whilst being extended?

3. Is it normal to have the set price agreed? so many times i see ppl saying that they went x% over budget, but i assumed that a price agreed was exactly that?

4. Payment method, for lets say a project costing from £20-£30k would this be paid in stages in regards to the work progress, and keeping a 5% retainer for things on a snag list?

5. Will it also be cheeky to ask to provide a breakdown of the quote e.g. how much for masonry work, electrical, plumbing, just so i can evaluate if each part of the quote is reasonable.