How far to go with qualifications - a grey area it seems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
1. Hello, i am presently in my second year of the 2330 and needing advice on where to go next, after checking a variety of websites it seems that i only need the NVQ if i want to work on JIB sites, but also been told that if you have the qualifications some will let you work anyway. plus to become an approved contractor ive checked with the NIC and it states they require the 2330 and possibly the 2391 but if you show competence in testing you can get approved without doing the 2391. to be honest im not too bothered about getting my JIB card. it seems nearly everyone i have spoken to says you can do 90% of your work being approved by the NIC or ECA etc.

2. Plus it seems like a grey area because i have been doin work on holiday parks recently which of course is under special locations but not Part P. when ive checked their rules of sparks it states that the spark has to be approved via the NIC or ECA etc or if not has to prove that they are competent! and me doing my 2330 will pass me as competent. so in reality i can certificate with non registered NIC certificates. any comments would be welcome

thankyou.

Sponsored Links
Passing 2330 doesnt necessarily make you "competent"

i think getting AM2, (which you have to do, to get NVQ now?) is more important than going after a JIB card