how to connect a plug socket off an existing plug

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello sorry i am kind of new to this

okay so i have a plug socket and when opened there is two sets of wires going into the plug so two live two neutral and two earth
what i want to do is add a new plug about 4 metres away a twin socket again as this one also is a twin socket now
a mate of mine has simply added a length of the correct wire from the plug so now there is 3 of each going into this plug and the new wire goes to the new plug socket so its basically like an extension he said
i dont know much and yes it does work at the moment but im not sure is this okay to leave like this and be using all 4 plug sockets?
it will have a tv and an extension lead in one with sky box the internet and maybe a dvd player
is this okay?
thank you adrian need a reply quite urgent thanks

Sponsored Links
Unfortunately you are not very clear about how the circuit was/is set up - you imply there are three sockets but talk about four!!

The bottom line is that the first socket you talk about (the one with two sets of line neutral and earth) could either be part of a ring final circuit or a radial final circuit.

If it is part of a ring final circuit then you can have one additional socket (spur) running from the original socket - I think the limit might be 3 metres though. If you want more than one socket then you must put a (13Amp )Fused Connection Unit in between the original socket and the first socket.

If it is part of a radial final circuit then you can add as many sockets as you like subject to voltage drop.

Dosen't matter whether the socket is a single or a double by the way.

If the original socket was part of a ring final circuit, the wiring has been installed properly and is definitely of the correct size and type, what's been done should be fine.