How to cut a slate slab (and how difficult is it)?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

An old slate slab has come up that I would like to use for a kitchen worktop. It's from an old snooker table and is 30mm thick.

I'll need to cut it roughly in the first instance so that I can move it and fit it into the car. I can then cut it more precisely once the unit is made and I have exact details.

I've never done it before... For a rough cut and at that thickness, what would be best to use? I have got:

- a large circular saw (are they all capable of cutting stone with the correct blade or are some machines for wood only)?
- a mini circular saw (Worx)
- an angle grinder (but with no discs so would need to buy whatever would be suitable).

Hoping to collect tomorrow, so any advice would be fantastic.

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
Don't you need a water cooled saw? Doesn't seem very DIY to me, not sure spraying a hose pipe on an angle grinder or circular saw is a good idea. Do you need to cut a bit out for the sink - how on earth would you do that neatly?

I'm afraid I have no answers to your questions! :) I was hoping people on here might be able to enlighten me.

I did like the image of the hose pipe though. Perhaps if I where wellies I'd be well enough isolated and protected from any kind of shock. And I'd keep my socks dry. Win-win!

I think I'd have to agree with Freddie - using an electric tool with water is just asking for trouble. In comparison to granite, though, slate isn't particularly hard so up to about 1in thickness it can be cut dry with an angle grinder and a diamond cutting disc. I did this on a slate bar top once so we could install some extra beer engines. It was quite dusty, so a mask and goggles are an absolute must - just don't risk throwing water on it!