How to fix mud pile of a garden after recent fence work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all
Unfortunately I have zero gardening experience and looking for some help in making my now mud pit of a garden somewhat more presentable in advance of putting house on the market.

I've recently had a fence installed that's left the grass destroyed and it now just a muddy building site (so I don't have a specific drainage issue)

I've tried to read through some of the advice on here and some of the things I've found is to aerate and then replant grass. Where I'm confused is what to do after aerating, what type of fertilizer should be used, how is it applied, how long until planting new grass etc

Any general advice on things I could do now would be greatly appreciated

Sponsored Links
There isn’t a great deal you can do at this time of year all the time it’s wet, but if we get a dry spell you could hire a lawn airator which will help give oxygen to the roots and encourage the grass to repair itself.

It’s not the time of year to use fertiliser, you could do a weed n feed when we get into spring.

If you’ve got a moss problem then you could apply copper sulphate solution, but bear in mind it will turn the moss black in 24 hours and you won’t get a green lawn until the grass grows again.

If you are wanting to do the lawn in the spring and really improve it, then scarify the lawn to remove the thatch, aerate the soil with a hire machine, maybe brush in some top dressing, then lay grass seed.

If the lawn isn’t too massive the quickest way to get grass seed to grow is to but a roll of fleece and some metal clips. Spread the seed and put down the fleece, it stops birds eating all the seed and the grass germinates really quickly - after a month you will have a green lawn, after 6 weeks you can top it with a lawnmower

when are you putting the house on the market perhaps delay till late summer ??