How to remove a wall and fit an RSJ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All,

I'm a bit of a noob on the building forum and i just wondered if someone might advise me on the right way of how to remove a wall.

This is whats there at the moment:-

This is what I would like to happen:-

The floor above above this has just a stud wall deviding the bed room and bathroom, which doesn't even sit on top of the wall beneath, its offset about 500mm (ish)

I would think that it needs an RSJ to cover that span, but what dimension/depth would be needed?

Would i have to leave the (I think the're called) 'nibs' in place to give additional support? If so, how big do they need to be?

Many thanks in advance!!

edit:- BTW, i left the other walls, floorboards, plasterboard etc off the drawing
Either end of the RSJ wouls also have a brick wall to sit on aswell as any nibs that may be needed.

Sponsored Links
are there any ses on here anymore.. used to enjoy reading at one time...

Glad we are here to entertain.. im kinda busy at the moment seems someone descided the ressession has been cancelled and everyone wants to build something..

So to answer the OPs question:
I would think that it needs an RSJ to cover that span, but what dimension/depth would be needed?

Would i have to leave the (I think the're called) 'nibs' in place to give additional support? If so, how big do they need to be?
Size will depend on the load from the floors above, stud wall size/height, if the stud wall carries the roof above.. and the overall opening span..
But assuming its just floor and a none load bearing stud wall and maybe a bath then it should be an RSJ size rather than something beafy.

As far as nibs go well they depend on the walls adjacent and if they can support the load from the beam, if the walls are load bearing they this is not normally a problem.. consideration to overall lateral stability of the whole house is considered as well..