How to stop a copper pipe turning in the wall?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I put in an external CH drain stop-cock, one of the copper ones on the end of a copper pipe, which then goes into speedfit elbow. I can't figure out a way to stop it turning in the wall when I open it with a spanner - any ideas?

thanks,
S.

Sponsored Links
Can't you just put some grips (Footprints or waterpump pliers) on it to stop it turning?

Yes, I can remember to do that, however there is no guarantee that whoever is servicing the system after me will bother do the same.

I am pretty new to speedfit, so I've never had this problem before as the stopcock was always going to soldered joint inside the house. I get the feeling that rotating pipes while the system is under pressure is asking for future problems.

Always had copper inside the house in the past, so there was always a bit of solder stopping the stop-cock from turning. I know the way to solve this which is to go buy a piece of copper put an end-feed elbow on the pipe inside the house, put another length of copper on that and them secure the pipe to a joist. Just wondered if any Speedfit experts out there knew of a better (quicker, less fiddly) way.

cheers,
S.

Sponsored Links
Yes, I can remember to do that, however there is no guarantee that whoever is servicing the system after me will bother do the same.

I think the point is that if it won't undo without turning then whoever does it will have to grip the fitting to stop it. It's not a case of 'remembering' to do it, surely, if it turns then you just figure how to stop it?

if it turns then you just figure how to stop it?