1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

How to wire and connect a Cooker Hood

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by James Turner, 7 Jan 2021.

  1. James Turner

    James Turner

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I am in the process of installing a new cooker hood and have a query on how to wire it safely. The current hood was wired from a junction box that goes to a fused socket. The problem is the new cooker has an earth wire the old one does not. Can I simply cut the earth wire back then wire in the live & neutral into the junction box like the old hood was?

    I have attached some pictures to help show what I have.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    35,494
    Thanks Received:
    3,971
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No - you must connect it properly, and connect the earth wire to the earth wire in the supply cable.

    Make sure the other end is connected to earth.

    Never cut off earth wires like the idiot who did it before.

    upload_2021-1-7_15-11-30.png
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    69,756
    Thanks Received:
    3,927
    Location:
    Crossgates
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    Trim back the grey sheath on the twin and earth cable and you will find a bare copper earthwire inside it. Slide some green and yellow sheathing onto it and connect it to your junction box.

    There is no such thing as a fused socket. What do you mean? If the hood is connected to a socket circuit it must have 5A or 3A fuse. An FCU would be suitable.

    The earthwire has to be connected at both ends.
     
  5. James Turner

    James Turner

    Joined:
    18 Nov 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks

    I have attached a photo of the socket I was referring to. So from what you said the junction box should look like this when I install the new cooker hood cable?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Sponsored Links
  7. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,043
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes

    strictly speaking, that is the wrong sort of junction box. It has no clamps or other restraint to prevent the cables being pulled out of the terminals. It is designed to be screwed to the wall, not floating in the air.
     
Loading...

Share This Page