I can't seem to get my wireless adaptor in my pc to work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Belkin wireless router and a usb belkin adaptor plugged into my PC (desktop). It has been working fine for ages then all of a sudden it decided not to work.

So off i pop down to my local pc store to buy a new usb wireless adaptor thinking it must be that and it is still the same.

My laptop works fine wireless to the router so the router must be ok.

i tried allsorts like re installing the software for the adaptor and at 1 point i managed to get the belkin adaptor to find the router but the windows wireless icon never found it. God knows i'm currently connected via ethernet cable and had to bring the pc back down stairs.

what i can't understand is i have not messed about with anything or moved pc so why should it just pack in.

I'm not too good with these things when they go wrong so have anybody got any ideas what to check etc.

Ps i also have Mcafee running which used to secure the wireless connection and that won't work either now.

thanks

Sponsored Links
Sounds like Mcafee might be the problem (cos it's ****e). Have you tried removing it. Your router should be securing your wireless connection (if configured correctly. Try to get it all running without any protection and then add this back in once a connection is established.

Igorian said:
Sounds like Mcafee might be the problem (cos it's s***te). Have you tried removing it. Your router should be securing your wireless connection (if configured correctly. Try to get it all running without any protection and then add this back in once a connection is established.
i shall try re installing it without the wireless protection buy i think it just auto installs it as a complete package. I don't want to have my computer un protected by having no AV software on it. Ill try and re install Mcafee without the wireless protection on and see what happens.

thanks