Ideal c28 mini intermittent ignition

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just moved into a new home with an ideal c28 mini that appeared to work ok. However over the past week I've noticed that sometimes when there is hot water demand (for both CH and HW) the boiler won't light and the green light flashes 4x second. The only remedy is to turn off the demand, wait for the boiler light to stop flashing and try again.

I read some other posts that the ignition board might have some dry solder joints (my boiler has 2x boards) so I checked the PCB and resoldered all the dry joints (particularly those around the big power resistors). Everything else looked okay on the board - I'm an electrical engineer/physicist so when it comes to fixing stuff I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron 😉

The boiler sounds ok, fan comes on, pump is whirring, but it appears to occasionally skip the ignition.

I'd appreciate any suggestions as the previous owners had some air valve part replaced days before we moved in and they said this had fixed the problem. I understand the boiler is quite old and would be open to suggestions on a new boiler if needed - but a quick fix for the summer would be nice!

Sponsored Links
I wouldn't bank on much help with an ignition fault.
It may be time to ring your local gas man.
Jeff.

Take the cover off the pcb.

When the light is flashing fast (fault) move the right hand dip switch down.

The resulting sequence of lights should tell you where the fault lies.

Been away for a while so no time to check. I've taken off the panel and flipped the DIP switch when I get the x4 flashing front panel light.

The inside LEDs light up in the following way (from left to right - although in this combination it doesn't matter!)

Green (flashing) Red (solid) Green (flashing)

They flash about 1x second.

Sponsored Links