Ideal Logic Combi 30 boiler and Danfoss TP500Si (Wireless) - heating not turning off when temp is reached

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there. Sleep deprived newbie here after being woken two nights in a row to the house being the temperature of a sauna. I've had this boiler / thermostat combo for around five years with no issues.

The Danfoss thermostat (sited in living room) normally kicks in if below temperature (17) yet two nights ago it did not turn off after reaching 17 - the radiators all through the house were boiling hot and the room temp 24 degrees. However, the thermostat continued to show 17 and could not / would not turn the heating back down. I needed to switch the boiler off to stop the rads from heating further. I changed the batteries the next day and all seemed ok - it was switching on at 17, moving up to 19 when asked to, and then stopping. However, I was woken in the night with my bedroom radiator being burning hot and the boiler merrily boiling away, although this time it was only my room that seemed to be affected. This time, overnight, I had dropped the thermostat setting to 14, knowing it was unlikely to kick in, yet it did. Again, I could not turn it off via the thermostat and needed to turn the boiler off.

Is it possible that I've inadvertently caught the programmer panel, that's located in the boiler cupboard next to boiler? Or do I have a faulty thermostat? All advice welcome and I'm very grateful. Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Stuck relay in the receiver.
You could check operation with a multimeter or see if the unit has any LEDs that go on and off when a demand is made for CH on/off.

Or signal is being lost from sender unit. Some kit defaults to heating on when signal is lost, as frost protection.

Is the thermostat showing a demand for heat?