1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Badi duo Tec combi 28

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by markyyyyyy, 23 May 2020.

  1. markyyyyyy

    markyyyyyy

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just installed a Honeywell dt90e thermostat and to check it out I turned the dial on my boiler to the hot water and radiator symbol.

    15902235368281052193862710215230.jpg

    I assumed that I could keep it on that setting on the boiler, and control the heating using the thermostat. IE. Coming on and off to regulate temp.

    When the room temp was 20 degrees I turned down the thermostat to 17 degrees and the green radiator/central heating light was still lit and the boiler was still working. Is this supposed to happen? I thought the thermostat switches boiler on and off as per temp if required?
     
  2. gas112

    gas112

    Joined:
    27 Oct 2009
    Messages:
    18,129
    Thanks Received:
    5,660
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so was there a room stat already there and you have changed it for a dt90 ?
    how many wires did you use and what terminals did you put wires into
     
  3. markyyyyyy

    markyyyyyy

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, it had yellow, red, blue and earth.

    I have made blue and earth redundant

    Red cable has gone into slot A on new thermostat
    Yellow cable has gone in to slot b?
     
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    15,288
    Thanks Received:
    5,360
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does your boiler have an internal timer on the control panel ? if it does this will have to be set to constantly on , same if you have an external timer anywhere
     
  5. markyyyyyy

    markyyyyyy

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't appear to, here is a pic of th front panel 15902350236605485533975145205669.jpg

    All I have elsewhere is the thermostat itself.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    15,288
    Thanks Received:
    5,360
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your boiler is switched to HW only
     
  8. markyyyyyy

    markyyyyyy

    Joined:
    5 Dec 2012
    Messages:
    365
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At the moment it is but I've turned it to just hot water because my boiler was running even when my thermostat was set below the actual room temp
     
  9. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    3,067
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wiring seems correct. You could disconnect the yellow at the thermostat and check the heating goes off. If it does it sounds like a problem with the stat.
     
  10. MeldrewsMate

    MeldrewsMate

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire, Darn Sarf
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doogle, where did you see the wiring? I only saw the description from the OP. Are you commenting on a convention for colour coding? Could it be that the OP's wiring is not conventional?

    OP, do you get the same results if you turn the new stat to a very high temperature?
     
  11. denso13

    denso13

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    3,067
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Country:
    United Kingdom
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page