1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

identify power supply

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by Juan Jose, 9 May 2019.

  1. Juan Jose

    Juan Jose

    Joined:
    4 May 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    Hi, please can anyone help me identify this power supply and where to buy this, thanks a lot! PastedGraphic-1.png PastedGraphic-2.png
     
  2. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    20,877
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Need more information. Any labels on the PSU ?

    It looks like a easy to find PSU but you need to know the output voltage and the current rating.

    Is it the power supply for the GEM-P400 alarm ? The diagram suggests the panel requires 16 volts AC


    0z3.jpg
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. blup

    blup

    Joined:
    5 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    828
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Google uk comes up with US companies/suppliers.

    Blup
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Juan Jose

    Juan Jose

    Joined:
    4 May 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    maybe the diagram has nothing to do with the power supply, perhaps powersupply was installed later in this place.
    It is used to power half a dozen cctv cameras.
    I will try to remove the whole thing and take more pictures.
    Thanks
     
  5. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    20,877
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The diagram is for a burglar alarm and looking at the way the Earth Wire is wrapped onto the tab I am sure you are right. Looks like the case that once contained a burglar alarm and is now used as a case for the power supply.

    If that is the case then when you know the voltage and current rating a replacement could be bought from RS Components in Spain https://es.rs-online.com/web/.

    RS Components are not the cheapest but the items are very good quality and customer service is excellent. Purchasing from them is risk free.

    ( Other sellers are available )
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Juan Jose

    Juan Jose

    Joined:
    4 May 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    Hi, these are more pictures, hopefully the correct power supply can be identified?
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mattylad

    mattylad

    Joined:
    27 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,857
    Thanks Received:
    308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do not need that exact power supply.
    All you need is one that will do the same job.
    your specification is that it provides 13.8v at 3amp.

    That voltage is going to be used to charge a SLA battery, if it is going into that panel the take note of what has been said above that it requires 16v - this is likely because the panel has it's own internal regulation circuitry that will reduce the voltage to the correct one.

    If you are not charging a backup battery then 12v will probably be fine (depending upon how long the cables are.)

    If you just want a as is replacement then search your nearest suppliers, ebay etc.

    Something like this could probably replace it.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Juan Jose

    Juan Jose

    Joined:
    4 May 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    Spain
    hi, is this going to be valid since it is cheaper, perhaps better 5A.
    the power supply is used to give power to half dozen cctv cams.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    20,877
    Thanks Received:
    1,887
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That one is too cheap to be reliable

    This is a good quality power supply RS740 4995

    Paying a bit more will reduce the risk of the power supply becoming faulty and damaging your ( expensive ) cameras
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,498
    Thanks Received:
    1,021
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You shouldn’t be using a alarm psu ( 13.80v) to power 12v cameras , if you have any sense use a multiple output psu ..eg Haydon / Dantech psu
     

    Attached Files:

    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page