Inhibitor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I emptied my Fernox TF1 filter today and noticed there was some black water and some bits of something. I guess the filter is doing it's job which is good.

I was wondering if 1litre of Fernox Protector F1 will be good for topping up the inhiibitor in my system.

I take it I just fill up on the towel radiator, but as I've re-pressurised my system, will there be room for 1litre?

As you can tell i've never done this before, so after some advice.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
No need to disturb any radiators close the TF1 valves drain it into a bucket then pour the inhibitor into the TF1 then open the valves top up and vent the TF1 all done

Thanks for the reply, do I unscrew the top of the fernox filter? Also will 1litre of the protector do, or shall I go with another brand?

Thanks

Quantity depends on size of your system, usually states on the bottle around 10 rads / litre.. it's ok to over dose on inhibitor.. :)

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the reply, do I unscrew the top of the fernox filter? Also will 1litre of the protector do, or shall I go with another brand?

Thanks
yes just close the valves and unscrew same as cleaning the magnet, then open the valve at the bottom and drain it into a bucket or bowl close the drain valve then add the inhibitor, have a look on the boiler or in the benchmark book for the boiler if you have one and it should say what inhibitor has already been used, I always try to use the same , I dont like mixing brands, 1L is usually adequate but you dont need to worry about using too much, you would have to seriously overdose it before you would have a problem

Oh I think I understand you now i've looked at my filter. On top of the filter I remove the bleed vavle, and pour in my inhibitor (I pretend I knew that, but I just watched this crazy guy :D
)