1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Installed Hive, but still need old thermostat "on" to work

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Smir, 6 Dec 2019.

  1. Smir

    Smir

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I installed my Hive yesterday all perfect, pretty easy..

    my only issue is I still need the old thermostat turned "on" (above the temp to work)

    ideally, I'd like to just bridge the connections but unsure which ones do it?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,016
    Thanks Received:
    1,311
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The red and yellow wires in (1) and (3) should be permanently connected together.

    It's better to make the bridge at the origin of the cable instead though, then the old cable and room thermostat can be removed altogether.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Smir

    Smir

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did think about this but the wiring seems like a complete mess! its a rented property aswell so thought if/we have to move, its coming with us

    IMG_1926.jpg IMG_1927.jpg
     
  5. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page